Bad Mommy Moment

I learnt something the other day.

When they tell you not to leave your kid unattended in the bath, it’s for good reason.

I left The Kid unattended in the bath for about 2 minutes, while I went to prepare his bedtime bottle.

Needless to say, as I picked up the bottle, and walked toward the bathroom, I heard a thump and then some heart-wrenching sobs. My kid had leaned over the edge of the tub, because he’d dropped a toy on the floor, and he spilled out onto the tiles. Head first, of course.

And his nose started bleeding, and he cried. And cried. And cried some more.

I had to get into the bath with him, and lay him on my chest and rub his back until his tears were gone.

Yes, terrible mother. Bad mistake.

Lesson learnt: do not leave Kid unattended in the bath. ever.

7 Responses

  1. Shame man – You must have got a real skrik!!!

    Reminds me of when I left Son#1 unattended on our bed for a few minutes and of course, he chose that precise time to teach himself how to roll, and the boytjie just rolled right off the bed! Landed with a crash onto the wooden floor =( ‘Twas heartbreaking …

  2. Ouchie…not bad mommy though, accidents happen.

  3. I agree with Megg – accidents happen. But it must have been frightening!

  4. oy… haven’t we all learnt that lesson at some stage or another!!?!?

  5. We all do it. my big lesson was never leave them on a bed. roll, roll, THUMP.

  6. Oy. Don’t beat yourself up. Had the same thing happen here. A few times, actually. It’s amazing ANY of us make it to adulthood!

  7. Oi vey. We all have stories like this to tell!!!

Leave a Reply

